Home » Opinion » For Those Who Remain Undecided…

For Those Who Remain Undecided…

Scott Johnson and John Hinderaker offer “A closing argument for John McCain” at Power Line. It’s a good closing but not the strongest closing because it fails to make a pithy statement of the case for Senator McCain. Nevertheless, undecided voters should read it as it will remind them of who the man really is. However, there is more to take into account before punching that hole in your ballot and that is the matter of trust.

Candidates jockey about on their positions to suit the times and the sentiments of the voters. This is expected if not accepted. But overall do we trust a particular candidate to do the right thing, to be honest with us (at least to the degree that any politician can be honest), and to have our best interests at heart. Will he make the same choices we would or will he selfishly pursue his own agenda. Will he revel in his own intellect and power or be a man of integrity and humility. When he looks in the mirror does he see the same man we see. These are important things.

The candidate who passes my “important things” test is John McCain. We do not agree on all of the issues but on enough of them. He was not my first choice as the Republican nominee but to be fair neither was Barack Obama on the Democrat side. Regardless, I trust John McCain to do the right thing more consistently and that is the best anyone can do.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

One thought on “For Those Who Remain Undecided…

  1. I know when I voted, I didn’t fully understand, but after I voted, I realized that I had made a decision that didn’t support a strong America. When I voted, I realized I voted for someone who would “do it for me” where I don’t have to be responsible for myself. After I made that decision, I now know that I didn’t make a decision based on creating a strong America.

    I want a candidate in office that will support me being an entrepreneur, which is what this country was founded on. This country is not about having the government being responsible for you, its about being an entrepreneur and having that self reliant spirit. And that was what this country was founded on. I don’t agree with everything McCain does, and how he campaigned, but he does know a little bit more about being an American and what it means to be an entrepreneur. And that is what this country needs right now, just a little bit more of that. So if you haven’t voted yet, vote for the candidate who will support us in being responsible for ourselves. This country does depend on it.

Leave a Reply

